TRAVEL GUIDE for RWANDA! – Don't wait for the perfect moment, just take the moment and make it perfect!

Eastern province, Ngoma

Rwanda Eastern Province districts

Eastern Province (Kinyarwanda: Intara y'Iburasirazuba; French: Province de l'Est) is the largest, the most populous and the least densely populated of Rwanda's five provinces. It was created in early January 2006 as part of a government decentralization program that re-organized the country's local government structures.
It has seven districts: Bugesera, Gatsibo, Kayonza, Ngoma, Kirehe, Nyagatare and Rwamagana. The capital city of Eastern Province is Rwamagana.
Eastern Province comprises the former provinces of Kibungo and Umutara, most of Kigali Rural, and part of Byumba.



It is not known when the territory of present day Rwanda was first inhabited, but it is thought that humans moved into the area following the last ice age either in the Neolithic period, around ten thousand years ago, or in the long humid period which followed, up to around 3000 BC. Archaeological excavations have revealed evidence of sparse settlement by hunter gatherers in the late stone age, followed by a larger population of early Iron Agesettlers, who produced dimpled pottery and iron tools. By the 17th century it is thought that most of Rwanda was inhabited, with a fairly even spread of population across the hills of the country.

Enjoy Rwanda

Untitled Document